and to publish and sell reports of the proceedings; to disseminate information on weed control; and to collaborate with other organizations in the field of crop protection.

Over 400 scientific, commercial, and agricultural workers registered for the Harrogate conference. Plans for a similar conference next year were discussed, but there was some opposition to holding another meeting of the same general scope at such an early date. The council is expected to take definite action on the question at its December meeting. Joint secretary W. A. Williams, of the Association of British Insecticide Manufacturers, announced that the printed report of the Harrogate conference proceedings would be available early next year.

## Calspray Forms Canadian Subsidiary

California Spray-Chemical Corp. has announced formation of a Canadian subsidiary, Ortho Agricultural Chemicals, Ltd., with headquarters in Vancouver, B.C.

Construction of a modern dust mill and warehouse in New Westminster, B.C., has been completed for formulating and distributing Ortho products under the new company label.

At present, the new company's distribution will be limited to British Columbia and Alberta, but the company expects to service the entire Dominion as facilities are developed in other provinces.

The Green Valley Chemical Co., Ltd., in New Westminster has been named distributor for the two provinces.

R. T. Wilson, secretary of Standard Oil of British Columbia, will act as Canadian executive officer of the new company. Headquarters address is 906 Marine Bldg., 355 Burrard St., Vancouver 1, B.C.

## People

## USDA Names New Members to Research Advisory Committees

The U. S. Department of Agriculture today announced the appointment of 37 new members to 17 of its research advisory committees. The new members fill vacancies caused by rotation, resignation, or related circumstance.

Research advisory committees, authorized under the Research and Marketing Act of 1946, counsel the Department on all of its research, service, and educational work.

The Agricultural Research Service assigns to each committee an executive secretary, but otherwise their member-

ship is comprised of persons outside the Department of Agriculture.

New members, and the committees to which they have been appointed, include:

Citrus fruit: Horace Etchinson, Mc-Allen Fruit & Vegetable Co., McAllen, Texas; A. L. Chandler, Mutual Orange Distributors, Redlands, Calif.; and Philip Twombly, Golden Citrus Juices, Inc., Fullerton, Calif.

Cold Storage: Allyn C. Beardsell, Container Laboratories, Inc., New York, N. Y.; Daniel E. Brady, University of Missouri, Columbia,; Alvin W. Langfield, Ferguson-Langfield Frozen Foods, Inc., Oakland, Calif.

Cotton and cottonseed: Mitchell Landers, Southwest Five States Cotton Growers Association, Berino, N. M. Dairy: Ralph T. Goley, Gold Spot

Dairy: Ralph T. Goley, Gold Spot Dairy, Inc., Enid, Okla.; and Arnold H. Johnson, National Dairy Products Laboratories, Inc., Long Island, N. Y.

Deciduous fruit and tree nuts: Olin W. Thompson, Golkist Pecan Growers, Waycross, Ga., and George H. Chick, Maine State Department of Agriculture, Augusta.

Feed and forage: Wayne Rogler, Matfield Green, Kan.; and Ronald Bethke, Ralston Purina Co., St. Louis, Mo.

Forest research: **Philip D. Lyman,** Breezy Hill Farm, White River Junction, Vt.

Grain: Kenneth Kendrick, National Association of Wheat Growers, Stratford, Tex.; George F. Garnatz, Kroger Food Foundation, Cincinnati, Ohio; and Betty Sullivan, Russell-Miller Milling Co., Minneapolis, Minn.

Livestock: Wilbur L. Plager, Iowa Swine Producers' Association, Des Moines, Iowa; and L. M. Hutchings, Agricultural Experiment Station, Lafayette, Ind.

Oilseeds and peanut: Parke C. Brinkley, Commissioner of Agriculture, Richmond, Va.

Potato: **Ben Picha**, Grand Forks, N. D.; and **R. W. Kohler**, American Storage Co., Philadelphia, Pa.

Poultry: **Howard J. Houk,** Armour Co., Chicago, Ill.; and **Joe Ray,** Danville, Ark.

Rice: W. J. Duffy, Jr., Sutter Basin Ranches, Woodland, Calif.; and Joseph Dore, Supreme Rice Mills, Crowley, La.

Seed: John W. Mathys, Northrup, King and Co., Minneapolis, Minn.; W. T. Nolin, Hamburg, La., and Walter C. Peirce, Peirce's Greenacres, Hutchinson, Kan.

Sugar: Slater M. Miller, Hawaiian Sugar Planters' Association, Washington, D. C.; J. J. Munson, The South Coast Corp., Houma, La., and R. H. Walker, Utah State Agricultural College, Logan.

Transportation: Elmer W. Cart, Public Service Commission, Bismarck, N. D.; and C. S. Decker, The Borden Co., New York, N. Y.

Vegetable: T. R. Merrill, Merrill Packing Co., Salinas, Calif.; and Curtis Watkins, Sr., Fadler Produce Company, Springfield, Mo.

**Harold G. Brownson,** vice president of Irving Trust Co., has been elected a director of Arkell & Smiths.

**K. H. Rowland** has been promoted from general superintendent of the South Charleston, W. Va., plant of Carbide & Carbon to assistant works manager of the company with headquarters in New York. **Roland D. Glenn** succeeds him at Charleston.

John W. Yale, Jr., has left his position as plant pathologist in the Los Angeles office of Mathieson to become plant pathologist for Brea Chemicals, Inc.

Henry A. Lepper, honored by the AOAC for his work with the association which was reported in AG AND FOOD Oct. 27 has not retired from the Food and Drug Administration. His identification as a retired FDA offical was an error. Mr. Lepper remains the very active assistant chief of the Division of Food of FDA.

Joseph C. Schumacher has joined American Potash as director of research. He was formerly with Western Electrochemical as vice president and research director.

Breckinridge K. Tremaine has left Du Pont to become technical director of Rhodia, Inc.'s industrial Alamask reodorant division.

Howard E. Prentice, vice president of the Corn Industries Research Foundation, Inc., has been elected president of the American Trade Association Executives.

L. E. Clifcorn, associate director of research for Continental Can, has been elected president of the Agricultural Research Institute.

Byron H. Webb has been appointed director of research and Donald H. Bornor, director of commercial development, for National Dairy Research Laboratories. Dr. Webb has been assistant director of research and Mr. Bornor has been in charge of new product development there.

Edward A. Curtis, formerly of Congoleum-Nairn, Inc., has join the General Foods central laboratories as project leader in packaging research. Emanuel Borker has been promoted to section head in analytical chemistry.

Malcolm M. Renfrew has been appointed director of research and development for Spencer Kellogg & Sons. He was director of research and development for General Mills previously.